Friday Finds

IMG_9573.PNG

I seem to be having more disorganized weeks lately than organized ones. Is it the changing of the seasons? Entropy? The ultimate price of juggling three jobs? I guess it doesn’t really matter why, just that it is. My goal is to take time this weekend to get my mind’s house in order, so I can come out swinging in October! Or, I might just end up eating popcorn on my couch. Sometimes, that’s the best answer to life events you can’t control. I do have an adventure day on the books for Monday with a wonderful friend whom I see far too infrequently. Looks like the weather’s going to be nice, so maybe we’ll head up to the mountains for some leaf peeping! Can’t wait.

emma-watson-heforshe

Did you catch Emma Watson’s speech at OneWorld this week? She has become such an admirable spokeswoman for gender equality. I was particularly impressed and inspired by her Life Rules:

I am willing to be seen.
I am willing to speak up.
I am willing to keep going.
I am willing to listen to what others have to say.
I am willing to go forward even when I feel alone.
I am willing to go to bed each night at peace with myself.
I am willing to be my biggest, bestest, most powerful self.

in-the-company-of-women-cover

I’m super excited about Grace Bonney’s new book, In the Company of Women, which Elle calls, “A triumphant compendium of interviews with more than 100 female entrepreneurs, from activists to designers to bakers.” Women from all walks describe “how they embraced their creative spirit, overcame adversity, and sparked a global movement of entrepreneurship.” The book tour launches next week, with special guests from the book at each event, and a stop in Seattle on October 18th.

voice-vote

What a wild election year this is! Did you watch the first Presidential Debate? I, like many, have pretty strong opinions about the race. More than anything, though, I just hope that people turn up. I get that it’s easy to think that your voice doesn’t matter, but millions of people – women, especially – around the world, dream of having their voice considered, much less heard. So, please don’t take our liberty for granted. Get out there and exercise your right! Not just for the Presidency, for your local elections too.

Here’s a list of registration deadlines.

Not sure if you’re registered? It takes 30 seconds to Check Your Status Here.

Plan to be out of town? That’s awesome! Take 2 minutes to Get Your Absentee Ballot.

Not registered? Register Now!

Now Watching:

Brief but Spectacular (PBS) – I love these powerful little snippets that feature fascinating folks like iO Tillet and Carl Reiner. Check ’em out!

Now Reading:

My Son, the Prince of Fashion – Michael Chabon (GQ)

Now Listening:

Carry On – Tkay Maidza (Spotify)

Leave a Reply

