Project Update #2819035

Well, I’m sure you’re chomping at the bit for an update on our mess of a basement project. Because we were down in Portland from Thursday through Sunday, I haven’t had the time to completely finish things up. BUT, we did finally manage to finish painting. Whew.

It’s not dry yet, and there are a couple of touch-up spots, but I’m calling it done for now. I’ll let everything dry until Friday (unless I’m still on jury duty, because THAT starts tomorrow…) and then start making it into a real life office! Hopefully.

Let’s just say, I’m not willing to uncross my fingers yet. Given the way things have gone, and my general experience with DIY projects, some sort of issue is bound to crop up. I already have one concern, but I don’t even want to mention it for fear that I will conjure it into existence. Superstitions are legit!!

At the risk of ruining the whole thing, here are a few of the latest pics… So shiny!

img_9493

Try not to judge too critically. Like I said, there are touch-ups. And..there is work to be done along the wall lines, which, are ridiculously uneven and incredibly difficult to work with. Straight lines have officially been proven impossible. Plus, I’m still undecided about what to do with the right side floor board. I suggested continuing the gold there and RF winced. So, it stays put for now.

Those radiators are heavy, btw…I mean, HEA-VY. We began to pull them out and quickly aborted that effort. Instead, they are pushed back at the moment and will come forward a bit to cover the paint line when all is dry.

Part of me thinks…this is a corner in our basement…our basement that’s technically a cellar because of the exterior entrance, low ceiling height, and old-timey canning room. How uptight do I really need to get about this?! Haven’t you read those write-ups about the poor workmanship on HGTV design shows? Once it’s “dressed”, you’ll barely even notice! It’ll be just like TV!! Of course, the 100% OCD (according to an online quiz, which are always completely reputable sources) side of me is screaming…that’s all, it’s just screaming, loudly, inside my head.

We’ll see what it looks like dry. Shimmery paint has a naturally uneven look that could potentially hide a multitude of sins…or, you know, display them as prominently as cellulite through a satin gown.

img_9492

 

For your reference (just in case you’re thinking about undertaking something stupid like this crazy project!) these are the paint colors we’ve used thus far:

Back Wall: Rust-Oleum Universal Pearl Metallic Champagne Pink Spray Paint and Primer in One

Right Wall: Rust-Oleum Painter’s Touch 2X Satin Magenta General Purpose Spray Paint

Desk: Rust-Oleum  Universal All Surface Metallic Pure Gold Spray Paint and Primer in One

Floor: Behr Very Navy

Leave a Reply

