Are you a creature of food habit?

img_9021

Look at that BLT! Crunchy thick-cut bacon. Crisp lettuce. Fresh, end-of-season tomatoes. A light smear of mayo. So good. It’s even gluten-free. And those chips?! Hand-cut potatoes, freshly fried. Amazing. I love that some are super crispy, while others are still a little soft in the center. You can’t always predict, but all are equally delicious.

Only recently did I discover this BLT, after going to this restaurant for years. YEARS. We’re there almost every weekend. We’re on a first-name basis with the owner, her family, and all of the staff. It’s our kitchen away from home. Alas, I always order breakfast, and only rotate between just a few dishes: farmer breakfast, huevos racheros, and corned beef hash. I don’t even mix up those orders very much. Eggs are always scrambled. Always bacon, always well-done. Toast is always gluten free. (Not much choice on that last one, but still.)

Truthfully, this is the case at many places we go. So much so, that we call restaurants by our orders. Tuna Melt Place is a particular favorite. Regardless of how much time lapses between our visits, the first thing any of their servers asks is, “Tuna melts, today?” Why switch things up when you love something so much?

Well, this BLT is the answer. Look at what I had been missing out on! For years!! Who knew?! So, I’m on a mission to break my ordering habits and get out of this rut. I’m going to really stump the servers at Tuna Melt Place. With what, I’m not sure yet. But, I’m guessing that anyone who makes such a kick-ass tuna melt probably makes a lot of really other terrific things too.

Yep, time to switch things up!

One thought on “Are you a creature of food habit?

  1. I don’t know…I might have a hard time foregoing the Tuna Melt at the Tuna Melt place. And if we start getting other stuff, what do we call it? I mean, I never remember the name, it’s just “the tuna melt place.” I’d have to learn a new restaurant name AND eat new food? Hmmm. We’ll see.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

