Friday Finds: If You Can’t Stand the Heat Edition

IMG_6662

Bracing myself for temps in the 90s this weekend. I know, I know…cry you a river. You’ve probably sweltering in triple digits for weeks. But mild weather is why I moved to Seattle! Number 1 reason why I stayed. When the mercury creeps above 80, I get cranky. Really cranky. Is crangry a word? Well, that’s me in high heat. Thankfully, I know it will likely be very short-lived. Days are quickly shrinking up here in our corner of the country; we’ve lost 2 hours of daylight since the solstice. I know that rainy days and 4:30 sunsets are on their way… So, despite the misery of sweltering heat, I’m trying to squeeze as much as I can out of these final weeks of summer…even if that means heading to an air conditioned theater for a summer Blockbuster. 🙂

NINTCHDBPICT000257397902

Rio is proof positive that older athletes are ON FIRE!! In a year when the youngest Olympians were born after Y2K, many more competitors than Michael Phelps are back for their 4th and 5th games. There are 26 Olympians over 40! Soviet gymnast Oksana Chusovitina, 41, had been competing in the olympic games for 5 years before Simone Biles was born. Australian equestrian Mary Hannah is the oldest competitor at 61. The grandmother of 3 says, “I am going to keep going with this because I feel fit and healthy and why shouldn’t I?” Nobody tells Mary to get out of the kitchen!

Screen Shot 2016-08-19 at 3.13.23 PM

Who knew that wearables could keep you cool?! Controlled by a high quality micro-controller and temperature sensor, FRIO extracts heat from the body and cools a pulse point on your wrist to your optimal cooling rate. Designed for exercise, FRIO tracks all kinds of data via a real-time activity monitoring system. But will I feel cooler? Technically, no. Wuut?!? But…”calmer and more refreshed.” Hmm, seems sufficient enough for those of us who get crangry in the heat. Plus, it’s made by a company called IceTron. I’m pretty sure that’s Voltron’s super chill cousin.

frose

I have not yet jumped on the frosé bandwagon, so this is probably the perfect weekend! Have you tried it? If you’ve never made a granita, here’s a handy tutorial, plus recipes for non-boozy alternatives. Seems easy, but time consuming. I might cut straight to the chilled bottle!

Quote of the Week

“Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass under trees on a summer’s day, listening to the murmur of the water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is by no means a waste of time.”
―John Lubbock, The Use Of Life

Now Reading

Adding Dietland to the late-summer reading list. Seems like the perfect follow-up to 90 hours of continuing ed… For a short missive on a related topic, see also Why Am I So Fat?

Now Watching

A 2-mile stretch of buildings in Seattle’s SODO neighborhood is currently being transformed by 54 artists into a 32 building street art corridor called Sodo Track. For insight into the ways public art can transform communities, I recommend: eL Seed: A Project of Peace Painted Across 50 Buildings (TED)

Now Listening

A flashback in honor of the Queen of Pop’s 58th – Madonna (Spotify)  Speaking of, did you see her missing polaroids from 1983?!

Leave a Reply

