Friday Finds: Late Summer Edition

IMG_7901

Summertime colds really are the worst. Especially when you feel like summer is coming to a close way too quickly! Nothing but beautiful days behind and ahead of us right now, but I noticed the sun creeping over the horizon much earlier last night. As it does, being sick has put me behind at work, and I’m still rushing to complete my continuing ed course by the end of this month. But, I think we’re going to have to set aside some time to make sure that we don’t miss out on the bounty of these late summer days. I still need to make an heirloom tomato caprese. We haven’t been out on the lake. No outdoor concerts, movies, or festivals of any sort. There have been far too few ice cream cones! What happened to the lazy hazy days? Ours have been hurried and scurried. Time to slow down and enjoy the warmth of the season before fall sets in. It’s hard to think of the next season before it arrives, but I know that I will be welcoming crisp air and hot apple cider before long. Just not yet!! We still have a few more weeks…

blueberry buckle

Well, I guess you know that gluten-free has become pretty mainstream when it hits the Nordstrom blog. Though, this Blueberry Buckle looks pretty delicious! And it doesn’t call for pre-mixed gluten-free flour, just almond flour and polenta. The blueberries have been insanely giant and juicy lately. I need to give this one a try.

perseid-meteor-shower

RF and I have taken many drives in search of a place far enough from the light pollution of the city to enjoy meteor showers, to no avail. Granted, there’s often cloud cover in this area. This weekend, the Perseid Meteor shower is expected to be an “outburst” with more than 200 meteors visible per hour. What?!? The best time to view is after moonset, which in this area is around 1 am on Friday, and 1:30 am on Saturday. If you’re interested in seeking out the show, don’t drive aimlessly – here are some specific tips for The Best Places to See the Perseid Meteor Shower Outside of Seattle.

Lobster Roll

One of my favorite solo trips was a driving tour of New Hampshire, Maine, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Prince Edward Island. In August, it was an absolute necessity to stop for a lobster roll. My memory of this particular detour, however accurate or not, is idyllic – meandering down a quiet coastal road, golden reeds sprouting up along the waterway, sunlight flicking across the water’s undulating surface. Just as it had been described to me, a small shack gradually came into view in the middle of a pier. I parked in a small gravelly lot and walked the creaky planks to a window in a bright white shiplap wall. I couldn’t tell you now what words were exchanged, or with whom, but I walked away with a little paper basket, a few napkins, and a Coke. There were a couple of picnic tables on the dock. I sat up on top of the table, peacefully, alone, watching a lone boat bob in the distance and soaking up the heat of the day. In my lap, a fluffy golden bun toasted and piled high with buttery chunks of “lobstah” beckoned. So overstuffed was the bread that I plucked off a few of the tender meaty pieces and popped them into my mouth, savoring their richness, before sinking into the sandwich itself. In an instant, I was three-quarters of the way through the roll, then suddenly realized that I hadn’t touched the accompanying plastic bucket of slaw. In my experience, one either loves or hates cole slaw. I fall in the love category. But no, that couldn’t be my last bite; I had to pause. I devoured the creamy cabbage, then slowed my pace for the final bites of my meal. There are only a few things on which I enjoy loads of butter – RF’s grilled cheese sandwiches, RF’s mac and cheese, and lobster rolls. Butter perfectly fuses the briney shellfish to the crispy bread; one seemingly melts into the other. My tastebuds were delighted and overwhelmed all at once. Buzzed. Like a culinary blackout, I can’t remember the rest. I have no idea where that little shack is, how I got there, or where I went from there. The entire experience is like a dream. I can tell you that, if you ever get a chance, you should absolutely take a Road Trip Devoted Entirely to Lobster Rolls.

Quote of the Week:

“The crickets felt it was their duty to warn everybody that summertime cannot last for ever. Even on the most beautiful days in the whole year – the days when summer is changing into autumn – the crickets spread the rumor of sadness and change.”
―E.B. White, Charlotte’s Web

Now Reading:

Beyond Foosball: Office Perks that Employees Actually Want – a sandbox?!? Like, a literal sandbox?

Now Watching:

Sunspring – a short science fiction movie written by AI. Or a pretentious film student. You decide. 🙂

Now Listening:

The POTUS Playlist, of course – day and night.

Leave a Reply

