Alice of Wonderland…PDX.

Awhile back, I mentioned an obsession with Korean tattoo artist Seoeon. Truthfully, if she were local, I would very likely be inked by now. Her superfine lines and whimsical designs make for the perfect gateway tat. Alas, she is not in the area – and Korea hasn’t been a part of our most recent journeys.

As it turns out, I didn’t need the tiny starter tattoo to spark my interest in a larger one. Lately, I’ve been crushing on another artist with a much bolder style. Alice Carrier of Wonderland Tattoos (in Portland, no less) specializes in the most incredible botanicals. Suddenly, my inking fantasy has gone from subtle…

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 10.49.27 PM

…to spectacular!

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 10.44.25 PM

I am particularly smitten with these elaborate shoulder caps. The detail, the colors, the assembly…every part of it is stunning.

I imagine a vibrant arrangement cascading off of my shoulder like a Farmgirl Flower or Floret bouquet that never wilts or fades. Peonies, ranunculus, or parrot tulips, linked by dogwood branches or sweet pea tendrils.

As you might imagine, scoring an appointment with Alice isn’t easy. So, don’t worry mom, I haven’t run out and gotten all inked up just yet. I figure, if my grandmother could get her ears pierced at 60, I still have some time to mull this one over. I will leave you with a little more inspiration below, and there’s plenty more on Instagram if this has you dreaming too.

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 10.55.48 PM

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 11.07.58 PM

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 11.01.07 PM

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 10.59.00 PM

Leave a Reply

