Friday Finds

Holy Cow! How is our last weekend in Spain upon us?! It can’t be true! I knew this time would fly by, but I seriously had no idea just how quickly. We leave a week from today, so we still have a little more time to soak it all in before we go. We’re planning to leave Javea on Wednesday and spend our last two nights in Barcelona. I’m not even sure yet what we’ll do this weekend! Paella in Valencia? A castillo in Alicante? Head for the hills? Sit on the beach? Whatever we decide, we can’t go wrong.

I’ve tended to write about our food finds here, but we haven’t eaten out a lot this week – not nearly as much as we did in Seville, anyway. We still managed to uncover a few good finds, though…

Kiosko – The first time we passed by, I thought it was a pop-up restaurant in a park. The second time, I realized there was a permanent structure. We passed several more times before specifically seeking out a meal here, and that time it was closed! No worry, that meant that we ended up at Kiosko on one of the nicest days we’ve had here in Javea, perfect for sitting on the deck and enjoying a meal in the sun.

I can’t say that they serve the best rotisserie chicken I’ve ever had – after all, it’s hard to supplant my beloved California Chicken Cafe – but it was moist and delicious. The highlight of the meal was actually the salad. Iceberg lettuce, sure, but topped with tomatoes, carrots, corn, red peppers, pickled beats, and green olives. Plus, because they cater to Brits (the deck was teeming with them) they offer a variety of salad dressings that are delivered in giant squeeze bottles so that you can decide how much, or how little, you want. A random little detail that I really appreciate because I can’t stand salads doused in dressing.

InCODnito – Anyone who knows me knows that I’m going to fall head over heels for a restaurant just because of its punny name. Incodnito backs it up with a Brit favorite prepared by Brits. This Arenal fish & chips shop is run by a sweet expat couple who sticks to what they know best – fried fish. Nothing fancy, just expert execution.

We chose cod because it’s a taste of our Seattle home, but they offer a variety of fish plus chicken and calamari. Freshly fried, the batter was light and crispy, never mushy. All mush was left to the very yummy peas. I also really liked the cut of the chips, plus the basket of sauces for mix-n-match dipping. No need to hide anything here!

IMG_3432

Crème de la Crème – It wouldn’t be a week in Spain without at least one pastry recommendation. It’s past time for me to give up treats, but I am going to miss this ability to splurge back in the States. There are several French patisseries in Javea, but this is the one our French house owner prefers. We’ve tried them all and agree. We know that RF is all about the chocolate, but the almond croissant is my favorite. This one might even be swaying him. Crispy, flakey crust filled with not too sweet almond paste and dusted with powdered sugar? To die for. It takes all of my willpower not to eat a baker’s dozen daily.

Leave a Reply

