Celebrating with Cookieroons!

Lots going on this past week!  Halloween, Daylight Savings, Blogimonthiversary…  Yes, it’s been 3 MONTHS!!! since I found my way back to the blog.  Whew.  Hard to believe.  For me, this first quarter has been all about creating, or rather re-creating, a writing habit.  Maintaining a daily blog is not easy work – I have serious respect for all who embark on this crazy adventure.  There have definitely been days, many of then, when I think that perhaps 3 or 2…or 1…day(s)/week might be a better choice.  Or, that it wouldn’t be so bad to let a day or two slide here and there.  And yet, I feel quite proud when I click on my analytics page and see this summary pic:

Screen Shot 2015-11-02 at 10.29.18 AM

Those dark squares represent a live post on all of the weekdays since I started back in July.  As I see those squares building up, it becomes less and less tempting to break the chain!  I suspect the day will come when it happens.  And, I am promising myself now not to beat myself up about it too much.  I’m certain there will be a good reason.  But, for now, I’m excited to have made it this far, and am looking forward to what the next three months has to bring.

Oh, another note of progress…  I think I mentioned last month that I try not to pay too much attention to how many visitors or views I’m getting every day.  Rational me knows that building a blog audience is even harder than maintaining the blog!  Instead, what I focus on is the corners of the world that I somehow manage to reach.  It’s just so fascinating to see that my random collection of words is being read in Norway or Vietnam or South Africa.  And, that this list of places more than doubled in the past month.  I think I reported 10 countries at the end of last month.  This is the current running total of 24:

Screen Shot 2015-11-02 at 10.49.43 AM         Screen Shot 2015-11-02 at 10.49.10 AM

Crazy!  I can’t wait to see this list grow even more over the next few months.  I plan to push my own boundaries a bit more as well.  You’ll likely notice my categories changing a bit – they have already started morphing, so I figure that I might as well make it official.  Rather than focusing on tiny houses, Tuesdays will be dedicated more generally to home topics.  Throw of the Dice Thursdays tend to be style oriented; so, I’m going to make that more official toe.  I’m brewing a few guest post ideas to swirl in thoughts from other folks…if they’re willing.  And, RF and I have been sorting out the technical components of a little project we’d like your help with too.  Keep an eye out for that (hopefully) soon!

In the meantime, I recommend celebrating with some Cookieroons!  Our friends J&K made us a delicious arroz con pollo last week and we supplied Crisp Coconut Cookies with Fleur de Sel for dessert.  Not all of my Pinterest attempts are winners, but these were quite delicious!  After my first round, I decided to turn ’em up a notch with a drizzle of chocolate.  Follow SemiSwede’s recipe, based on the same from Marcus Samuelsson’s Aquavit Cookbook, then simply melt a half cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips in a spouted glass measuring cup (I heat mine in the microwave with a touch of vegetable oil or shortening to smoothen it out, but you can double boil them if you have all the time in the world prefer) and drizzle over top.  I prefer a courser drizzle for bigger bits of chocolate when eating.  The other option is to dunk them – either the bottom or half of the cookie.  Honestly, you really can’t go wrong.

IMG_0911

One thought on “Celebrating with Cookieroons!

  1. Pingback: Sweet Snack | year of months

Leave a Reply

