Wanderlust Wednesday: St. Lucia

Yesterday was one of those “Calgon, take me away!” kind of days.  If a genie had popped out of a bottle, I would have asked to be transported directly to Soufrière, St. Lucia.

From the French for “sulphur in the air”, Soufrière is home to the world’s only drive-in volcano which emits boiling mud and water from its crater.  But I’m not interested in the mud baths or sulphur springs.  Nope, my thoughts are set squarely on this swing:

add-10

I have been dreaming of a trip to Ladera Resort for many years now, just to rock gently back and forth in this swing overlooking the Pitons while soaking in the hot sun, gliding my toes through the cool pool water, and sipping icy rum cocktails – umbrellas optional.  There is no doubt that I would have given just about anything to be there yesterday.

With miles of Caribbean coastline surrounding acres of unspoiled rain forest, there are plenty of adventures to be had in St. Lucia: boating, diving, climbing, hiking, surfing, sailing, biking, zip-lining.  Breathtaking views and secluded beaches offer romance.  Several town centers provide visitors with their pick of shops and restaurants.  Yet, I don’t need these accommodations.  No, I could easily spend a week just sitting right there on that swing!

4 thoughts on “Wanderlust Wednesday: St. Lucia

Leave a Reply

