Insta Inspiration

Thought I would share a few of my Instagram faves today.  Instagram is quickly becoming my social media outlet of choice.  Not only do I love great photography and beautiful images, but it’s also nice to edit out some of the exhausting noise in the form of extreme opinions and polarizing politics on other site.  Don’t get me wrong, I like to be informed.  I certainly don’t want to be entirely blind to the latest news loop, but it’s just that, a loop.  And when you see and hear negative new stories over and over and over again each day, it wears on you.  For me, the antidote is Instagram.

My faves break out into four categories…

Friends with Cool Gigs:

Alex Ogle

@alex_ogle – I met Alex when we worked in television development in NYC.  He was an enthusiastic writer with passionate ideas.  I thought for sure he’d become a renowned screenwriter, but he ended up in an even more fitting role behind the lens as an AFP photojournalist, first in Hong Kong and now in Delhi.  His photos are not only stunning, they tell incredible stories.

Dovetail

@dovetail_gc – My awesome friend RK is the Sustainability and Quality Director at Dovetail General Contractors.  She’s such an inspiring woman who goes full steam ahead towards exactly what she wants and never looks back.  Dovetail’s work is equally inspiring.  (Well, almost – RK is hard to match!)  As an armchair architect, I love seeing Dovetail’s latest bespoke projects.

Alexandra

@alexandrasmacarons – Alexandra is a friend of a friend, but I adore anyone who follows their dreams with this much gusto.  Alexandra’s Macarons is a mobile macaron boutique here in Seattle.  It’s hard to miss Alexandra delivering her delectable treats around town in Gertrude the hot pink VW bus.

Inspired By:

KateTParker

@katetparkerphotographyKate T. Parker has been in the news a lot lately for her #strongisthenewpretty campaign.  Her gorgeous, strong, packed with personality daughters are front and center in Kate’s tremendously vivid and rich photographs that transport you straight into life’s most thrilling moments.  Inspiration is a gross understatement.

HONY

@humansofny – I know that everyone is familiar with Brandon and HONY, but I think his work is deserving of a shout out because of the incredible service he does to the notion that you can’t tell a book by its cover.  By asking probing questions of his subjects, he often peels off the many layers of the onion to reveal details that you never would have guessed in passing.  His work is a terrific reminder to…never assume.

SBR

@subwaybookreview – RF and I lived in NYC for 5 years, and I was always curious about what people were reading around me on the subway.  Subway Book Review answers that question with real world reviews, the honesty of which I find far more informative than traditional reviews.

Le Sigh:

Anna Bond

@annariflebond – Anna Bond is the force behind Rifle Paper Co., whose products I’ve already gushingly admitting to adoring.  I also follow @riflepaperco, but it’s fun to get a glimpse into the inspiration behind the genius.

Floret

@floretflower – Erin Benzakein is living my alternative dream life on a flower farm outside of Seattle.  Her photos are as heavenly as her flower arrangements.  I can’t help but smile when her pics pop up in my feed.

Paris4Months

@parisinfourmonths – I suspect lots of people dream of being Carin Olsson.  She moved to Paris in 2012 planning to only stay for four months.  Of course, she’s still there.  As a fashion photographer, she jets around the City of Lights snapping pics for Cartier, Dior, Gucci, and the like.  Suffice it to say, her vie is hardly quotidienne.

Hearty Laugh:

AdamJK

@adamjk – Adam is a NYC-based designer whose side project, a gift shop filled with quirky and humorous takes on everyday ephemera, has morphed into quite an enterprise.  His feed is so enjoyable because I never know what to expect, other than that I will chuckle.

Amy Sedaris

@imamysedaris – Is there anyone more whackadoodle than Amy Sedaris?  I like to imagine that her Instagram feed represents what she remembers of her last night’s dreams.  It’s random and awkward and bizarre and…just plain awesome!

Goat

@goatsofanarchy – What can I say?  I love goats.  They’re the most curious critters whose antics always make me smile.  I follow several goat feeds, but this was the original.  Goats of Anarchy follows the misadventures of Jax, Opie, Tig, Nero, Otto, Juice (named after Sons of Anarchy characters) and their farm mates, including chickens, a donkey, a pony, a mini pig, and two additional goats, Ansel & Petal, who are famous in their own right.

Who are your favorite Instagrammers that I should be following?  If you’re interested, you can find me @whatimsnapping.

Leave a Reply

